2021 Annual Convention Minutes

CALL TO ORDER: Vice Chairman Zach Varnell called to order the 2021 Annual Convention of the Libertarian Party of Georgia at Academy Theater in Hapetown, Georgia at approximately 12:27 PM on Friday March 12th, 2021. Secretary Amber Howell recorded the convention minutes.


Amber Howell presented the credentials report. There were 21 delegates who have met the requirement of membership, and 18 who have not.

Danny Dolan moved to suspend the 366 days rule to allow all active members to be allowed to vote. Motion was seconded by Chase Oliver. Motion passed by majority voice vote.

New number of delegates equals 39. Quorum is 16.


Ted Metz moved to adopt the agenda, second by Chase Oliver. Motion passed unanimously via voice vote.


Zach Varnell gave the Chairman’s Report.


Zach Varnell gave the Vice Chairman’s Report.


Zach Varnell presented the Treasurer’s Report, which was projected onto the screen for the members to see. He fielded questions regarding the report.

A motion to accept the Treasurers Report was made and seconded. Motion passed unanimously via voice vote.


Christine Austin moved to amend the Article VII, section A of the Bylaws from Article VII to the following

An Annual Convention shall be held on or before the latest day allowed by state law. The Business portion of the convention must be conducted on a Saturday between the hours of 9:00 am and 9:00 pm. The business portion of the convention includes officer’s reports, committee reports, nomination of candidates, election of party officers, changes to bylaws, and changes to the platform.

Seconded by Jack Aiken. Motion failed by majority voice vote.


Amber Howell moved to change Article VII, section L of the Bylaws to the following:

No less than ten days nor more than 30 days prior to an Annual State Convention at which candidates shall be nominated for public office, the Secretary of the Executive Committee or in the event of the vacancy of that office the Vice Chairman, shall have the following Notice of Convention published in a newspaper of general circulation in the State of Georgia in the State of Georgia with a general circulation above 20,000:

Notice of Convention The Libertarian Party of Georgia shall, on [date of convention] hold its Annual Convention at [location] for the purposes of nominating candidates for public office and conducting general business of the party.

Motion was seconded by Nathan Wilson. Motion failed by majority hand vote.



Shane Hazel moved to add the following to the platform:

3.8 Secession

We recognize the right to political secession. This includes the right of secession by political entities, private groups, and individuals. Exercise of this right, like the exercise of all rights, does not remove legal and moral obligations not to violate the rights of others. Those who wish to secede should not have to obtain permission of those from whom they wish to secede.

Seconded by Chase Oliver. Motion carried by majority voice vote.



Ryan Graham submitted nomination signed by three people.
Elizabeth Melton nominated Ted Metz, seconded by Christine Austin.
Ted Metz nominated NOTA, second from the floor.

Ryan Graham was elected Chair by majority paper ballot.

Vice Chair
Zach Varnell was nominated by Elizabeth Melton, second from the floor.
Christine Austin nominated Ted Metz, second from the floor.

Zach Varnell was elected Vice Chair via majority paper ballot.

Angela Pence nominated Pamela Alexander, seconded by Chase Oliver.
Amber Howell nominated NOTA, second by the floor.

A motion was made by Martin Cowen to suspend the rules to allow Treasurer to be elected via affirmation vote. Motion was seconded and carried unanimously via voice vote.

Pamela Alexander was elected Treasurer by majority voice vote.


Elections for PSC Districts via regional caucus:

PSC 1- Adam Inyang, Marc Douglas, Elizabeth Melton
PSC 2- David Barker, Thomas Nickles
PSC3- Chase Oliver, Christine Austin, Jack Aiken
PSC 4- Nathan Wilson, Angela Pence, Jeffrey Shull
PSC 5- Danny Dolan, Ted Metz, Keaton Holt, Garrett Holt

Elections for At-Large:

Doug Craig nominated Mark Mosley, seconded by Ted Metz.
Chase Oliver nominated Ramone Miller, second from the floor.
David Barker nominated Johnathan Weaver, second from the floor.
Christine Austin nominated Doug Craig, second from the floor.
Ben Young nominated Colin Mckinley, second from the floor.


Nathan Wilson moved to suspend the rules to use ranked choice voting, seconded by Ted Metz.


The following were elected via ranked choice paper ballot:
Doug Craig, Colin Mckinley, Johnathan weaver, Mark Mosley



Motion to endorse Danny Dolan for Tyrone City Council by Angela Pence, second from the floor.

Motion Carries by unanimous voice vote.


Convention was adjourned at 5:47 PM





The Libertarian Party of Georgia may be reached in the following ways:


  1. By mail: PO Box 19959, Atlanta GA, 30325
  2. By telephone: 404-888-9468
  3. By Email: [email protected]

Additionally, all party news and information, including information contained in this packet, can be found on our website: https://www.lpgeorgia.com.




Party officers at the time of the 2020 Convention were as follows:


Chairman – Ryan Graham


Vice Chairman – Zach Varnell


Secretary – Amber Howell


Treasurer – Evan Durkovich






We, the undersigned Chairman and Secretary of the Libertarian Party of Georgia, Inc., do so hereby certify that the above is a true and complete copy of the minutes of the 2020 Annual convention of the Libertarian Party of Georgia.

This ___ day of _____________, 2020.



Ryan Graham, Chairman   Amber Howell, Secretary



State of Georgia

I, Amber Howell, as Secretary of the Libertarian Party of Georgia, Inc., affirm that the foregoing or attached is a true and complete copy of the minutes of the 2021 Annual Convention of the Libertarian Party of Georgia, Inc., made by me, and the photocopied document is not a vital record, a public record, or a publicly recordable document, certified copies of which are available from an official source other than a notary public.



Amber Howell, Secretary    

Sworn to (or affirmed) and subscribed before me this ___ day of _____________, 2020.

____ Personally Known

____ Produced Identification

Type and # of ID ________________________



(Signature of Notary)    



(Name of Notary)
Notary Public, State of Georgia



Scroll to Top